I found what I love...

Are you a lover? Are you ready to pay the price for what you really love? I am a tech lover. I’m a student pursuing a degree in software engineering. Research is my next thing, it keeps me in touch with what’s happening in the current technological world and what’s required of the upcoming generations. However, let me take you to a different direction and let the cat out of the bag. Let’s talk about my personal journey being in love with technology.

I never interacted with computers until I started my secondary education where I was introduced to Computer Studies as a technical subject and developed interest in the subject. However, in form two as I figured out which track to focus on amongst the three technical subjects; Business Studies, Agriculture and Computer Studies, I was reminded I'm a village girl and Agriculture is the best fit, of how I cannot compete with other confident girls with higher typing speed and who have interacted with computers since their childhood. I ended up attending Agricultural class for one week before making a bold decision to do what I love.

In form three, I had an opportunity to interact with women in technology through a program hosted by Safaricom women, ‘Women In Technology’. This was the day I decided I'll pursue a degree in software engineering. I completed my secondary education and yes, I did well in computer studies with A grade.

Sometimes we drift. We move away from the right track. We unintentionally move away from what we believe we can. Sometimes we give an ear to other voices and ignore the voice inside. It didn’t take long before KUCCPS knocked at my door for my selections. “Charity, you need to select a marketable course”, I was told. I ended choosing civil engineering and nursing but KUCCPS knocked at my door the second time demanding I do a second selection. I didn’t choose Software Engineering but at least I chose Computer Science which KUCCPS agreed but I later transferred to software engineering.

I’m starting my third year of studies, still in love with technology. The first two years in my studies have been exciting. I’ve grown and developed more interest in the industry. The two years, I've learned and unlearned. Never have I been perfect, however, I believe that all parts of this love-the good, the bad, the ugly could someday come together and make some sense. I accept it as process to my progress.

The disappointments of bugs and errors are now fun. It’s a game of finding solutions. Through this process, I find satisfaction in finding a solution to a problem. I’ve learnt to be bold. Bold and brave enough to believe love is not hasty, but patient. It took the two years for me to figure out which track to focus on. I woke up one day wanting web development, another machine learning. Sometimes I tried cyber security. However, today I have a clear path. I’ve walked a journey of self discovery. I’ve been mentored, challenged and exposed. As a KamiLimu alumni, the 8-month mentorship program played a huge role in my life. The experience with Microsoft Game of Learners as a participant took me to another level. I’m more intentional. I’m better today.

The love has insulated the disappointments, confusion, difficulties, the bug and error times and filled it with excitement, hope and fun. What began as a small win has accumulated to something much more. I found what I love.

Charity Jelimo